Legislative Council

(According to seniority)

Name	Division	Date of Appointment		
P. R. DU TREMBLAY	Sorel.	Jan.	3.	1925
R. O. Grothé	De Salaberry	Dec.	,	
Elisée Thériault	Kennebec			
JACOB NICOL	Bedford	Sept.		
VICTOR MARCHAND	Rigaud	Apr.		
GUSTAVE LEMIEUX	Montarville	Dec.		1932
HECTOR LAFERTÉ	Stadacona	July	23,	1934
EMILE MOREAU	Lauzon	June		1935
Alphonse Raymond	De Lorimier	Aug.	28.	1936
J. L. Baribeau (Speaker)	Shawinigan	Jan.		1938
PHILIPPE BRAIS	Grandville	Feb.	16,	1940
JULES BRILLANT	Golfe	Jan.	14,	1942
Frank L. Connors	Mille Isles	Jan.	14,	1942
Robert R. Ness	Inkerman	Jan.	14,	1942
WILFRID BOVEY	Rougemont	Feb.	12,	1942
Félix Messier	De Lanaudière	Feb.	12,	1942
EDOUARD ASSELIN	Wellington	Jan.	23,	1946
Geo. B. Foster	Victoria	Aug.	22,	1946
GÉRALD MARTINEAU	Les Laurentides	Aug.	22,	1946
J. OLIER RENAUD	Alma	Aug.	22,	1946
Patrice Tardif	De la Vallière	July	20,	1952
JOSEPH BOULANGER	De la Durantaye	Oct.	8,	1952
EDOUARD MASSON	Repentigny	Mar.	12,	1953
Albert Bouchard	La Salle	Nov.	24,	195

Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the House of Assembly. The Honourable Louis O. Breithaupt, LL.D., Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at June 30, 1955, was commissioned to office Jan. 24, 1952. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 92.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 98 members elected for a statutory term of five years on an adult suffrage basis.

Besides the regular Departments of Government the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario-St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (R.S.O. 1950, c. 202, as amended 1952, c. 51) each Member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$2,600 and an allowance for expenses of \$1,300. In addition the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a special indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance of \$2,000 for expenses. Each Member of the Cabinet having charge of a Department receives the ordinary indemnity as a Member of the Legislature of \$2,600 plus the \$1,300 expense allowance in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Prime Minister is \$14,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a Department \$10,000. Ministers without portfolio receive only the indemnity and expense allowance of a Member.